NFA's Logo

Notices to Members

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996

Subscribe to our feed Follow NFA_News on Twitter
Email This to a Friend
Notice I-11-20

November 16, 2011

NFA Announces Nominations Made by the 2011 Nominating Committee

In accordance with NFA Bylaw 406, the Office of the Secretary has received from the 2011 Nominating Committee a list of its nominees for positions on NFA's Board of Directors and 2012 Nominating Committee. The list of nominees included with this notice shall serve as notification to NFA Members of the candidates proposed by the 2011 Nominating Committee.

Other nominations may be made by petition. Article VII, Section 3(b) of NFA's Articles of Incorporation provides that:

    "Nominations may be made for elected FCM and LTM, IB, and CPO and CTA Director positions by:

      (i) Petition signed by 50 or more NFA Members* in the category for which the nomination is made (i.e., FCM and LTM, IB, and CPO and CTA); or

      (ii) Petition submitted by any organization or association recognized by NFA as fairly representing the category ... for which the nomination is made.

    Petitions shall be submitted in the manner specified by the Bylaws. No petition may nominate more than one candidate for the same position."

Article X, Section 3 of NFA's Articles of Incorporation similarly permits nominations for the Nominating Committee by petition.

NFA Bylaw 406 requires that each petition identify the position to which the nomination pertains, and that all petitions must be received by the Secretary within 21 days of the date of this Notice. Therefore, if you wish to submit nominations by petition, please make sure that such petitions are received by the Secretary of NFA on or before December 7, 2011. Petitions received after that date will not be considered.

Petitions should be mailed or faxed to:
National Futures Association
Attn: Thomas W. Sexton
300 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 1800
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(Fax: 312-781-1672)

If you have any questions, please contact Thomas Sexton at (312) 781-1413.

* Section 2 of Article VI of the Articles of Incorporation provides that for purposes of signing nomination petitions, a Member will be deemed to be a Member "only in that single category to which its business activities primarily relate."


FCM -- This year there are three open positions and one vacancy in the FCM category on the Board. With regard to the vacancy, there is a proposal before the Board of Directors to restructure the Board to integrate swap participants and a retail foreign exchange dealer. This proposal would reduce the total number of seats in the FCM category on the Board from eight to seven, with three seats for top ten FCMs, three seats for non-top ten FCMs and one at-large seat. In that the proposal is likely to be approved by the Board in February 2012 and implemented shortly thereafter, the FCM Nominating Subcommittee chose to leave the vacancy empty for now with the expectation that this position would be eliminated, and to nominate three individuals for the other three open positions.

Of the four FCM Board members whose terms do not expire next year, two are affiliated with FCMs that rank in the top ten FCMs based on the total amount of segregated funds and secured amounts as of June 30, 2011 and two are affiliated with non-top ten FCMs. Therefore, the three open FCM positions may be filled by either FCMs that rank in the top ten or by FCMs that do not rank in the top ten. The nominees are:

Nominees - FCM Category:

Gerald F. Corcoran
Chief Executive Officer
R.J. O'Brien & Associates, Inc.

Scott A. Cordes
Country Hedging, Inc.

Michael C. Dawley
Managing Director
Goldman Sachs & Co.

IB -- This year there is one open position in the IB category on the Board which must be filled by a Guaranteed IB. The nominee is:

Nominee - Guaranteed IB Category:

Paul J. Georgy
Allendale, Inc.

CPO/CTA -- This year there are two open positions in the CPO/CTA category on the Board. The two CPO/CTA Board members whose terms do not expire next year rank in the top 20% of CPOs or CTAs with funds under management allocated to futures. Therefore, the two open CPO/CTA positions may be filled by either a CPO or CTA that ranks in the top 20% or by a CPO or CTA that does not rank in the top 20%. The nominees are:

Nominees - CPO and CTA Category:

Craig L. Caudle
Chief Executive Officer
Liberty Funds Group, Inc.

Aleks A. Kins
President and Chief Executive Officer
AlphaMetrix LLC


FCM -- There is one open position on the 2012 FCM Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Marc Nagel
Chief Operating Officer
Dorman Trading, LLC

IB -- There is one open position on the 2012 IB Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Rodney W. Dow
The Dow Corporation

CPO/CTA -- There is one open position on the 2012 CPO/CTA Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Anthony T. Gannon
Chief Executive Officer
Abbey Capital Limited

NFA is the premier independent provider of efficient and innovative regulatory programs that safeguard the integrity of the derivatives markets.
Site Index | Contact NFA | News Center | FAQs | Career Opportunities | Industry Links | Home
© National Futures Association All Rights Reserved. | Disclaimer and Privacy Policy