Notices to Members

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | Show more years

Notice I-08-29

November 04, 2008

NFA Announces Nominations Made by the 2008 Nominating Committee

In accordance with NFA Bylaw 406, the Office of the Secretary has received from the 2008 Nominating Committee a list of its nominees for positions on NFA's Board of Directors and 2009 Nominating Committee. The list of nominees included with this notice shall serve as notification to NFA Members of the candidates proposed by the 2008 Nominating Committee.

Other nominations may be made by petition. Article VII, Section 3(b) of NFA's Articles of Incorporation provides that:

    "Nominations may be made for elected FCM and LTM, IB, and CPO and CTA Director positions by:

      (i) Petition signed by 50 or more NFA Members* in the category for which the nomination is made (i.e., FCM and LTM, IB, and CPO and CTA); or

      (ii) Petition submitted by any organization or association recognized by NFA as fairly representing the category ... for which the nomination is made.

    Petitions shall be submitted in the manner specified by the Bylaws. No petition may nominate more than one candidate for the same position."

Article X, Section 3 of NFA's Articles of Incorporation similarly permits nominations for the Nominating Committee by petition.

NFA Bylaw 406 requires that each petition identify the position to which the nomination pertains, and that all petitions must be received by the Secretary within 21 days of the date of this Notice. Therefore, if you wish to submit nominations by petition, please make sure that such petitions are received by the Secretary of NFA on or before November 25, 2008. Petitions received after that date will not be considered.

Petitions should be mailed or faxed to:
National Futures Association
Attn: Thomas W. Sexton
300 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 1800
Chicago, Illinois 60606

If you have any questions, please contact Thomas Sexton at (312) 781-1413.

* Section 2 of Article VI of the Articles of Incorporation provides that for purposes of signing nomination petitions, a Member will be deemed to be a Member "only in that single category to which its business activities primarily relate."



This year there are four open positions in the FCM category on the Board. Two of the positions must be filled by FCMs that rank in the top ten FCMs based on the total amount of segregated funds and secured amounts as of June 30th preceding the election, and the other two must be filled by FCMs that do not rank in the top ten. The nominees are:

Nominees - Top Ten FCM Category:

W. Robert Felker
JPMorgan Futures Inc.

William F. McCoy
Managing Director
Morgan Stanley

Nominees - Other FCM Category:

Maureen C. Downs
Rosenthal Collins Group LLC

Christopher K. Hehmeyer
Chief Executive Officer
Penson GHCO


This year there is one open position in the IB category on the Board which must be filled by an Independent IB. The nominee is:

Nominee - Independent IB:

John A. Vassallo
Coquest Incorporated


This year there are two open positions in the CPO/CTA category on the Board. At least one must be filled by a CPO or CTA that ranks in the top 20% of CPOs or CTAs with funds under management allocated to futures. The nominees are:

Nominees - CPO and CTAs

Bruce L. Cleland
Vice Chairman
Campbell & Company, Inc.

George E. Crapple
Co-Chairman and
Co-Chief Executive Officer
The Millburn Corporation



There is one open position on the 2009 FCM Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Dennis D. Dorman
Dorman Trading, L.L.C.


There is one open position on the 2009 IB Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

John W. Crane
Traders Network, Inc.


There is one open position on the 2009 CPO/CTA Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Verne O. Sedlacek
President and Chief Executive Officer
Commonfund Group

Subscribe to NFA Email Communications