Notices to Members

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | Show fewer years

Notice I-12-26

November 9, 2012

NFA Announces Nominations Made by the 2012 Nominating Committee

In accordance with NFA Bylaw 406, the Office of the Secretary has received from the 2012 Nominating Committee a list of its nominees for positions on NFA's Board of Directors and 2013 Nominating Committee. The list of nominees included with this notice shall serve as notification to NFA Members of the candidates proposed by the 2012 Nominating Committee.

Other nominations may be made by petition. Article VII, Section 3(b) of NFA's Articles of Incorporation provides that:

    "Nominations may be made for elected FCM and LTM, IB, and CPO and CTA Director positions by:

      (i) Petition signed by 50 or more NFA Members* in the category for which the nomination is made (i.e., FCM and LTM, IB, and CPO and CTA); or

      (ii) Petition submitted by any organization or association recognized by NFA as fairly representing the category ... for which the nomination is made.

    Petitions shall be submitted in the manner specified by the Bylaws. No petition may nominate more than one candidate for the same position."

Article X, Section 3 of NFA's Articles of Incorporation similarly permits nominations for the Nominating Committee by petition.

NFA Bylaw 406 requires that each petition identify the position to which the nomination pertains, and that all petitions must be received by the Secretary within 21 days of the date of this Notice. Therefore, if you wish to submit nominations by petition, please make sure that such petitions are received by the Secretary of NFA on or before November 30, 2012. Petitions received after that date will not be considered.

Petitions should be mailed or faxed to:
National Futures Association
Attn: Thomas W. Sexton
300 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 1800
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(Fax: 312-781-1467)

If you have any questions, please contact Thomas Sexton at (312) 781-1413.

* Section 2 of Article VI of the Articles of Incorporation provides that for purposes of signing nomination petitions, a Member will be deemed to be a Member "only in that single category to which its business activities primarily relate."


FCM -- This year, there are four open positions in the FCM category on the Board. Of the four FCM Board members whose terms do not expire in February 2013, one is affiliated with a top ten FCM, two are affiliated with non-top ten FCMs, and there is one vacancy. Therefore, of the four open FCM positions, at least one must be filled by a top ten FCM. The nominees are:

Nominees - FCM Category:

Antoine Babule
Chief Executive Officer
Newedge USA, LLC

Christopher K. Hehmeyer
Non-executive Vice Chairman
Knight Futures

Maureen C. Downs
Rosenthal Collins Group LLC

William F. McCoy
Managing Director
Morgan Stanley

IB -- This year there is one open position in the IB category on the Board which must be filled by an Independent IB. The nominee is:

Nominee - Independent IB Category:

John A. Vassallo
Coquest Incorporated

CPO/CTA -- This year there are two open positions in the CPO/CTA category on the Board. The two CPO/CTA Board members whose terms do not expire next year rank in the top 20% of CPOs or CTAs with funds under management allocated to futures. Therefore, the two open CPO/CTA positions may be filled by either a CPO or CTA that ranks in the top 20% or by a CPO or CTA that does not rank in the top 20%. The nominees are:

Nominees - CPO and CTA Category:

George E. Crapple
Co-Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer
Millburn Ridgefield Corp.

Tom Lloyd
General Counsel
Campbell & Company, Inc.


FCM -- There is one open position on the 2013 FCM Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Chris Damilatis
Vice President
ADM Investor Services, Inc.

IB -- There is one open position on the 2013 IB Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

John C. Jensen
Heritage West Financial, Inc.

CPO/CTA -- There is one open position on the 2013 CPO/CTA Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Robert J. Amedeo
Executive Vice President
Altegris Portfolio Management, Inc.

Subscribe to NFA Email Communications