Notices to Members

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | Show fewer years

Notice I-14-29

November 04, 2014

NFA announces nominations made by the 2014 Nominating Committee

In accordance with NFA Bylaw 406, the Office of the Secretary has received from the 2014 Nominating Committee a list of its nominees for positions on NFA's Board of Directors and 2015 Nominating Committee. The list of nominees included with this notice shall serve as notification to NFA Members of the candidates proposed by the 2014 Nominating Committee.

Other nominations may be made by petition. Article VII, Section 3(b) of NFA's Articles of Incorporation provides that:

    "Nominations may be made for elected FCM and LTM; IB; CPO and CTA; and SD, MSP, and RFED Director positions by:

      (i) Petition signed by 50 or more NFA Members* in the category for which the nomination is made (i.e., FCM and LTM; SD, MSP, and RFED; IB; and CPO and CTA); or

      (ii) Petition submitted by any organization or association recognized by NFA as fairly representing the category… for which the nomination is made.

    Petitions shall be submitted in the manner specified in the Bylaws. No petition may nominate more than one candidate for the same position."

Article X, Section 3 of NFA's Articles of Incorporation similarly permits nominations for the Nominating Committee by petition.

NFA Bylaw 406 requires that each petition identify the position to which the nomination pertains, and that all petitions must be received by the Secretary within 21 days of the date of this Notice. Therefore, if you wish to submit nominations by petition, please make sure that such petitions are received by the Secretary of NFA on or before November 25, 2014. Petitions received after that date will not be considered.

Petitions should be submitted by mail, email or fax for receipt no later than November 25, 2014 to:

By Mail:
Thomas W. Sexton
National Futures Association
300 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 1800
Chicago, Illinois 60606

By Email:

By Fax:
Attn: Thomas W. Sexton
(312) 781-1467

If you have any questions, please contact Thomas Sexton at (312) 781-1413.

* Section 2 of Article VI of the Articles of Incorporation provides that for purposes of signing nomination petitions, a Member will be deemed to be a Member "only in that single category to which its business activities primarily relate."


FCM -- This year there are four (4) open positions in the FCM category on the Board of which at least two (2) must be affiliated with a top-ten FCM based on the total amount of segregated funds and secured amounts as of June 30 preceding the election, and at least one (1) must not be affiliated with a top-ten FCM. The nominees are:

Maureen C. Downs
Rosenthal Collins Group LLC

Christopher K. Hehmeyer
Non-executive Vice Chairman
KCG Futures

William F. McCoy
Managing Director
Morgan Stanley

Antonio Reyes Miras
Managing Director
Citigroup Global Markets, Inc.

IB -- This year there is one (1) open position in the IB category on the Board which must be filled by an Independent IB. The nominee is:

Michael T. Burke
Chief Executive Officer
HighGround Trading LLC

CPO/CTA -- This year there are three (3) open positions in the CPO/CTA category on the Board of which one (1) must rank within the top 5% of CPOs or CTAs reporting any funds under management allocated to futures and swaps on NFA Form PQR and NFA Form PR as of June 30, 2014.

The Nominating Committee selected one nominee who ranked in the top 5% of CPOs or CTAs as of June 30, 2014. This nominee is:

Adam Cooper
Senior Managing Director and
Chief Legal Officer

The Nominating Committee selected five nominees, creating contested elections for the two remaining open positions on the Board in this category. The nominees and who they will be competing with are:

Brendan R. Kalb
Managing Director & General Counsel
AQR Capital Management LLC
John L. Roe
Roe Capital Management, Inc.

George R. Berbeco
The Devon Group, Inc.
Bernard H. Denis, III
Director, Head of Compliance (US)
Winton Capital Management Ltd.
James L. Koutoulas
Chief Executive Officer
Typhon Capital Management LLC

SD/MSP/RFED -- There are four (4) open positions in the SD/MSP/RFED category on the Board of which two (2) must be large financial institution SDs as of June 30 preceding the election, one (1) must be an SD or RFED that is not a large financial institution, and one (1) must be an MSP. The nominees are:

Martin J. Nance
Chief Compliance Officer
Cournot Financial Products LLC

Philip A. Olesen
Managing Director &
Global Head of Credit Trading
UBS Securities LLC

Don Thompson
Managing Director &
Associate General Counsel
JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Sheryl M. Wallace
Vice President, Cargill Risk Management
Cargill, Incorporated


FCM -- There is one (1) open position on the 2015 FCM Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Russell A. Levens
Chief Executive Officer
G.H. Financials LLC

IB -- There is one (1) open position on the 2015 IB Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Howard P. Rennell
The Windham Group, Inc.

CPO/CTA -- is one (1) open position on the 2015 CPO/CTA Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

David Barton
Head of Legal
Brevan Howard Capital Management LP

SD/MSP/RFED -- There is one (1) open position on the 2015 SD/MSP/RFED Nominating Subcommittee. The nominee is:

Siddhartha Valluri
Global Chief Risk & Compliance Officer
OANDA Corporation

Subscribe to NFA Email Communications